54

Was thinking about the SF Día de los Muertos event I went to a few weeks back.
It was an incredible blend of reverence and celebration. Knowledge/acknowledgement of history and literal forward motion.
In 2007, I was going through a particularly difficult stretch. I was stumbling and put myself in a place with nowhere to fall. Lying in bed one morning, I was unable to move. Lost. What seemed like a silent eternity passed. Then I heard my mother’s voice clear (and loud) as a bell:
GET   UP!
As a friend recently noted, it was good advice.
This one’s for you, Dorothy Parker Schweinsberg Wilks (June 15, 1938 – June 28, 2004).
No worries, Mom. I still hear you.

Leave a Reply

